HOME ABOUT THE IAAP BID REQUEST (RFP) MEMBERSHIP ROSTER

Go Back   IAAP Forums > Front Page > Front Page News
IAAP Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Sidebar Off

Front Page News Architectural Photography News

Main Menu
Module Jump:
Toast
Sponsor Links
REI
Mini Stats
Members 292 Entries 0
Members Entries
Threads 355 Reviews 0
Threads Reviews
Posts 1,723 Polls 9
Posts Polls
Content 0 Files 0
Content Files
Links 16 Ads 0
Links Ads
More...
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2007, 08:20 AM
Thomas Bliss's Avatar
IAAP Founder
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West Coast
Posts: 560
Blog Entries: 5
Rep Power: 10
Thomas Bliss has a spectacular aura about Thomas Bliss has a spectacular aura about
Default Domain Scam "Domain Registry of America"

I have been getting letters from a company called "Domain Registry of America" for quite some time telling me that my domain name is about to expire and I better re-register ASAP so as not to loose it. I must have received 20 of these letters over the years.

It comes in a slick official looking envelope, and invoice, and if you don't read it well you would think that this is the real McCoy. It is not!

It is a scam to prey on the uneducated. Furthermore you can reregister with them for only $30.00 a year! What a joke! I can reregister my Domains for about $3 to $8 a year, and I can buy them for as little as $1.99.

If you get a letter from these guys, shred it, toss it in the trash.

This company has been targeted by the FTC:
http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/12/domainreg.shtm

Sample Invoice:
http://support.easydns.com/domain.slammers/droa.php

News from UK:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2004/01...omain_slammer/
__________________
Thomas Bliss,
IAAP
Thomas Bliss Photography
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:14 PM
MossPhotography's Avatar
IAAP Associate Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: CO, AZ, UT, IL, MN, NM, CA, NV, TX, India
Posts: 188
Rep Power: 111
MossPhotography is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Domain Scam "Domain Registry of America"

I just received one from them for my India website. Same thing, they make it look like they are you contact for renewal. However, I appreciated the invoice from them. I had forgotten that my domain was coming up for renewal.

I personally would like to thank them. I'm sure my real hosting company would too. My current domain registrar had sent me reminders, but I filed them in my receipts mail box during a busy couple of days and spaced them out. I know I would have gotten at least one more legitimate reminder, but now my registrar doesn't need to.

By the way, "Domain Registry of America" is NOT the only one out there doing that. Be careful.

~V~
__________________
Vic Moss
Moss Photography
Denver, CO
1PET 4:10
http://www.mossphotography.biz
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2007, 10:22 AM
Thomas Bliss's Avatar
IAAP Founder
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West Coast
Posts: 560
Blog Entries: 5
Rep Power: 10
Thomas Bliss has a spectacular aura about Thomas Bliss has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Domain Scam "Domain Registry of America"

They are at it again. I got a letter from them yesterday. 10/10/07

They are now listing as Domain Hosting Of America.
__________________
Thomas Bliss,
IAAP
Thomas Bliss Photography

Last edited by Thomas Bliss; 10-12-2007 at 02:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:35 PM
Thomas Bliss's Avatar
IAAP Founder
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West Coast
Posts: 560
Blog Entries: 5
Rep Power: 10
Thomas Bliss has a spectacular aura about Thomas Bliss has a spectacular aura about
Exclamation New Domain Scam "Domain Services" Of Long Island City

I got a notice from Domain Services telling me that my domain was going to expire and I might loose it!

They are Scammers! Beware!

I have included a copy of the email I got.

Please pass this around to your friends, and family. Don't let them get scammed.

Scammer:
Domain Services
7-47 36th Street #16452
Long Island City, NY 11101
United States of America
Attached Files
File Type: pdf domain_services_scam.pdf (424.6 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Thomas Bliss,
IAAP
Thomas Bliss Photography
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:48 PM
Thomas Bliss's Avatar
IAAP Founder
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West Coast
Posts: 560
Blog Entries: 5
Rep Power: 10
Thomas Bliss has a spectacular aura about Thomas Bliss has a spectacular aura about
Exclamation Re: New Domain Scam "Domain Services" Of Long Island City

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Bliss View Post
I got a notice from Domain Services telling me that my domain was going to expire and I might loose it!

They are Scammers! Beware!

I have included a copy of the email I got.

Please pass this around to your friends, and family. Don't let them get scammed.

Scammer:
Domain Services
7-47 36th Street #16452
Long Island City, NY 11101
United States of America

POST A LINK TO THIS AT ALL YOUR BLOG AND USER GROUP SPOTS.... WARN EVERYONE......
__________________
Thomas Bliss,
IAAP
Thomas Bliss Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Domain Scam Thomas Bliss Front Page News 0 09-19-2007 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:02 PM.


All Content and images are © The International Association of Architectural Photographers 2007.

All Images © 2007 of the members of the IAAP.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
© IAAP 2008